What I Never Told You

I promise to love you at 6 am when your hair is messy and sleep is in your eye

I promise to love you at 8 am when your running out the door forgetting your car keys and when you rush back in to get them with coffee in one hand and my heart in the other

I promise to love you at 1 pm when you are skipping your lunch hour because you have too much work to do and you can’t find a break

I promise to love you at 5 pm when you forget to get the milk on your way home so it’s another night of dry cereal because it’s all we can afford

I promise to love you at 8 pm when you are watching the game on TV

I promise to love you at 10 pm when we are brushing out teeth and you take too long with the toothpaste

I promise to love you at 12 am when we’ve become a tangled knot of arms and legs and your body heat warms me from the inside out

I promise to love you at 3 am when you wake up from the demons inside your head and the pain is too much for you to bare

I promise to kiss your lips and rub your back and promise you that someday it will all be ok

I promise to love you until we are old in rocking chairs

And I promise to love you after that when I’m gone

I love you I love you I love you

Leave a Reply

