Book Review: Ignite by Rebecca Yarros

1-52

Rating: 5 teacups

Goodreads’ Book Description: 

In Legacy, Colorado, I buried my father alongside his elite Hotshot team.
Ten years later, I’ve followed in his footsteps—fighting fires in the mountains of Alaska with my brother.
Amid the flames, nothing ignites me like Avery Claire.
She’s stubborn, strong, sexy as hell, and my best friend.
She also has no idea that I’m in love with her.
But Colorado is calling me home, needing every Legacy-born firefighter to successfully rebuild our fathers’ team.
One night will change everything between us,
But she’s tied to Alaska and my future is in Colorado.
Now I’m torn between what my honor demands,
And what my heart can’t live without.

Michaela’s Experience

I will start this off with saying that I fucking love everything I’ve ever read by Rebecca Yarros and IGNITE was no different! This is a short novella in the Legacy series and it’s the perfect book to sit down with and, if you are like me, you’ll read it in less than 24 hours because you will not want to put it down. Also how amazing is the cover?!

“Avery Claire had been my best friend since I was eighteen.

I’d also been in love with her for just as long.” 

River packed up his life to live in Alaska with his brother Bishop after losing his father in a fire that devastated Legacy, Colorado however ten years later he is needed to help rebuild the team along with his brother. The only problem? Avery Claire, his best friend who has also been  secretly in love with for seven years.

“Kissing him hadn’t been the awkward first kiss of friends trying out something more. It has been like two magnets finally flipped so they were unable to do anything but collide.” 

Avery is probably one of the strongest female characters I’ve ever met. She  holds down two jobs while taking care of her father and rising her little sister all while trying to make everyone happy. She is just trying to keep her world balanced the best she can. Now her best friend is moving to Colorado and her entire world will be flipped upside down.

IGNITE will have you wanting to keep turning the pages to see how River and Avery handle the situations they are faced with. I hope to see more of River and Avery because I’m not ready to be done with them just yet!

“Yeah, well, we don’t remember the easily won games, right? The victories we remember are the ones where the outcome came down to the last minute, the overtime.”

* I was gifted an ARC in exchange for a honest review*

Leave a Reply

