Book Review: Wilder by Rebecca Yarros

28672986

Rating: 5 cups of tea

Goodreads’ Book Description: 

He’s Paxton Wilder.

Twenty-two-year-old, tattooed, smoking-hot leader of the Renegades.

Five time X Games medalist.

The world is his playground—especially this year—and for the next nine months I’m stuck as his tutor on the Study at Sea program.

He’s too busy staging worldwide stunts for his documentary to get to class.

But if I can’t get him to take academics seriously, I’ll lose my scholarship…if I don’t lose my heart first.

Six unlikely friends on a nine-month cruise with the Study at Sea program will learn that chemistry is more than a subject and the best lessons aren’t taught in the classroom…but in the heart.

Michaela’s Experience: 

It was a sad day when I finished the Flight and Glory series (also by Yarros) because it was and still to this day, is one of the best series I’ve ever read. However I can already say that just from reading WILDER alone, that The Renegades is going to become a quick favourite as well!

I love Leah Baxter, lets start with that. She is strong and, whether she thinks so or not, one of the strongest female leads I’ve ever encountered. She is witty with a good head on her shoulders and while she doesn’t know that she was hand picked to be Pax’s tutor, the one thing she is certain of is that he is forcing her to go outside of her comfort zone and slowly breaking down the walls she carefully constructed after an incident following her senior year of high school.

“Just moving you out of the fuckable category in my brain. I’m going to need a minute.”

Paxton Wilder is, without a doubt, one of my favourite male leads in a story ever! He is sexy, confident and an adrenaline junkie. He is an X Games gold medalist known to the world as Wilder and is the head of a group call the Renegades, an adrenaline stunt group always looking at ways to make their stunts bigger and more intense. After one of their own is seriously injured they decide to create a movie. The catch? The only way they can keep making the movie is if Paxton keeps his grades up and finishes his college education (enter Leah Baxter).

“But everything with Leah felt…different, and I didn’t know how to explain that to Penna without looking idiotic. Not just the way my hands gravitated to Leah’s skin, or the way I admired her bravery…it was her loyalty”

Leah and Paxton continued to surprise me and as they did, I continued to fall more and more in love with them. There are so many aspects to this novel that makes it an amazing read so please do yourself a favour and add WILDER to your TBR because I promise you won’t regret it!

*I was gifted an ARC in exchange for an honest review* 

Add to your TBR

Purchase on Amazon

Leave a Reply

