Top Ten Reads of 2016

Another year has come and gone and what a good year for books it has been! I haven’t read nearly as many as I was hoping to (life gets in the way) but I have read some pretty decent books in 2016 so I’ve made the difficult decision to narrow down my top ten books of 2016.  Please note these are in no particular order and not all were released in 2016!

29104680.jpgPunk 57 by Penelope Douglas 

A must-read about a boy and a girl who have been writing letters to each other for years and everything was perfect, until they met and everything they thought they knew was a lie.

“My muse was a lie”

AmazonAdd to Goodreads 

 

 

30184290.jpg

Crow (Boston Underworld #1) by A. Zavarelli

One of the best mafia stories I’ve ever read, Crow is a story about Mack who enters the world of the Irish mafia in hopes of finding her best friend who has disappeared with Lachlan Crow, a killer, a mobster with a lethal reputation, her only lead. Lines start to blur as Mack finds herself further and further into that world, after all, rules don’t apply to the Irish mafia.

“The lines are starting to blur even more than I care to admit.”

 AmazonAdd to Goodreads

 15507958.jpgMe Before You by Jojo Moyes

ME BEFORE YOU is real, this is not the story to pick up if you are looking for a walk through the park because that is not what you will get. You will cry, if you are human, but you will laugh and you will be inspired to go out and live life the fullest you possibly can!

“Sometimes , Clark, you are pretty much the only thing that makes me want to get up in the morning”

Amazon | Add to Goodreads

25955030.jpg Beneath These Lies by Meghan March

Meghan March is my go-to author when I’m in need of an alpha fix and BENEATH THESE LIES was no exception! I’ve read every book in the beneath series and it’s safe to say that LIES is undoubtedly my favourite. I don’t want to give away anything but let’s just say if you are looking for a sexy alpha and a strong as hell heroine then you need to one-click this read pronto!

“You walked into my world, totally clueless it even existed”

Amazon | Add to Goodreads

26258265.jpgThe Play by Karina Halle 

This is my favourite novel from Halle to date! I’ve read the previous books to this series so I knew it was going to be sexy but I didn’t expect the full on emotional roller coaster I was jumping into. Easily one of the best novels I’ve read this year!

“I’m losing myself in you. Every day. And it’s the most wonderful, terrifying feeling in the world.”

Amazon | Add to Goodreads

31823218.jpgA Place in the Sun by R.S. Grey

I knew as soon as I met Georgie in THE SUMMER GAMES SERIES that I needed her story almost more than I needed to breath (ok maybe a bit dramatic but work with me here!). I found myself wanting to book a one-way ticket to Italy and finding myself my own Gianluca and I bet you will too!

“When she smiled, the world smiled with her, and more than once, I found myself wishing I was the man she deserved to be with, the one she had come to Italy to find.”

Amazon | Add to Goodreads

29478744.jpg

The Rule Book by Jennifer Blackwood

This is such a light read but I honestly enjoyed it immensely. It’s a romantic comedy that I couldn’t put down.

‘A girl should be properly kissed in the snow at least once in her life.”

Amazon | Add to Goodreads

25495397.jpgWet by Stacy Kestwick

I could not put this down and I kept rooting for West and Sadie (insert that gif of Tyra Banks, you know the one) but it wasn’t just the main characters I was intrigued with it, it was everyone in this book. For an author to be able to wrap you up like that, that’s pretty great. I will warn you, if you are anything like me, you will throw your kindle because of the ending (just saying)..what a cliffhanger! (good news is SOAKED is available for you to one-click when you are done).

Amazon | Add to Goodreads | SOAKED Amazon | Add to Goodreads

27872890.jpgMoonshot by Alessandra Torre

Suspenseful and sexy, I read MOONSHOT in a day and I can almost guarantee you will do the same!

“Together, we would only bring chaos.”

Amazon | Add to Goodreads

28672986.jpgWilder (The Renegades) by Rebecca Yarros

Not shockingly WILDER was and to this day, one of my favourite reads of 2016. I loved everything about it from the characters, to the plot, to the settings, everything perfect. Leah and Paxton have a chemistry that is hard to capture in a novel but Yarros does it perfectly. Please do yourself a favour and one-click this!

“It’s love, Pax. It’s what some people spend their whole life searching for. Do you know what a miracle it is to love someone and actually have them love you back? You have a chance at something epic.”

Amazon | Add to Goodreads

Do you have any top reads of 2016? Leave them in the comments, I’m always looking for something new!

Michaela Kathleen xx

Leave a Reply

