Every Now and Then

Every now and then I get tired
And by that I mean
I could sleep for seventeen hours
and my eyelids will still feel heavy
and I still won’t get out of bed.

Every now and then I get angry
And by that I mean
I want to smash every mirror in my house
so I can’t look at myself
and be reminded about who’ve I become.

Every now and then I get sad
And by that I mean I don’t want to wake up in the morning
because that means facing the fact that my foundation
is cracking.

Every now and then I get hurt
And by that I mean I can’t even look those who love me
in the eye because I don’t want to see the worry I’m causing them.

But every now and then I get better.

Every now and then I get up
And by that I mean
I stand taller and stronger.

Every now and then I remember I have warriors around me
and by that I mean
I have strong women who show me that you can walk through hell
and still have wings.

Every now and then I pick myself up
and stop wishing for death
instead I wish for another day to remind myself
that I am alive and well and breathing.

Every now and then I get a little broken
but I continue to pick myself up again and again
and tell myself that there are so many wonderful things
and that even when things hurt so bad,

there are beautiful things to be seen,
there are beautiful people to meet,
there are beautiful places to see.

Every now and then I simply need to remind myself
that even when times are tough,
I am strong and no one,
not even the voices in my head,
can take that away from me.
Leave a Reply

