Book Review: PUCKED (PUCKED, #1) by HELENA HUNTING

Goodreads’ Book Description: 

With a famous NHL player for a step-brother, Violet Hall is well acquainted with the playboy reputation many hockey stars come with. She’s smart enough to steer clear of those hot, well-built boys with unparalleled stamina. That is until she meets the legendary team captain—Alex Waters.

Violet isn’t interested in his pretty, beat-up face, or his rock-hard six-pack abs. But when Alex inadvertently obliterates Violet’s previous misapprehension regarding the inferior intellect of hockey players, he becomes more than just a hot body with a face to match.

In what can only be considered a complete lapse in judgment, Violet finds out just how good Alex is with the hockey stick in his pants. But what starts out as a one-night stand, quickly turns into something more. Post-night of orgasmic magic, Alex starts to call, and text, and e-mail and send extravagant—and quirky—gifts, making him difficult to ignore, and even more difficult not to like.

The problem is, the media portrays Alex as a total player, and Violet doesn’t want to be part of the game.

My Experience: 

Holy hell! What a book to kick off the new year! I’m a sucker for sports romances (especially if it’s a sport I watch) so when I was going through my “To-Read” shelf on Goodreads’ and came across PUCKED I decided to take a chance on a new- to me – author and one-click this bad boy. Spoiler: I was not disappointed.

Let’s start off with Violet Hall. She is as quirky as they get with a serious set of witty comebacks that I personally will be using in the future if given the opportunity. I, at first, had some mixed feelings with Violet because I wasn’t sure if I really liked her. I’m not saying she came off as anything terrible but there are some characters you click with instantly and Violet just didn’t click with me at first BUT that quickly changed and I ended up loving her and wanting her to be my best friend while taking me to hockey games.

Then came Alex Waters and can I just say yum! First of all, as of recently I’ve been really digging hockey players so throw in Waters, a pro and captain for the Hawks, I was hooked! He is all hard on the inside but a sweet little marshmallow on the inside. Don’t let that fool you though,  Alex Water is one dirty boy.

“I can’t wait to have my mouth on you again. I’m gonna eat you like I’m on death row and you’re my last goddamned meal.”

SIGN ME UP!

PUCKED is told from dual POVS with a mixture of hot sex, sweet romance, hilarious dialogue, especially from Violet, that girl had me roaring! It’s not a simple “meet, hook up, happily ever after”. There’s a growth between Violet and Alex as well as lies and setbacks but hey don’t those just make a story more interesting?

In the words of Violet Hall

“I’m so pucked. There’d better be a support group for hockey hookers.” 

Amazon CA | KOBO | Audiobook | Add to your TBR 

 

Leave a Reply

